What are Food Pyramids? Are they similar to the Giant pyramids in Egypt, but made from food instead of limestone? Not exactly. The food pyramid is a graphical chart that uses the pyramid shape to give an outline of what to eat each day! I am sure that you have seen the outdated pyramid charts in schools and doctors offices. The chart uses 6 different food categories and suggests how many servings of each group that you should eat every day. This chart is outdated and not current with todays nutrition research. It simply does not make sense and will not help you on your journey of losing your belly fat.

The pyramid lacked clarity on the recommended serving sizes and quantities. The pyramid recommends 2-3 servings from the meat group, but this is intended as a maximum. Yet the recommended 2-4 servings of the fruit group is a minimum.


Also, it recommends to eat little or no fat, rather than explaining the difference in good fat and bad fat.

And another problem with the old pyramid is the grain group. It recommends eating more of these then any other group. But most of the grains are empty calories that don’t offer your body enough nutrition while loading up way to many calories. And so came the birth of the new Food Pyramid. This was made in 2005 by the USDA. It is a much more in-depth chart that uses the most current nutritional research.

Grain Group

This group is represented by a thick orange line. 6-11 servings of these are recommended. These include cereals, breads, pastas, crackers, and rice. Even better are the Whole grains, such as oatmeal, brown rice, grits, and tortillas.

Vegetable Group

This group is represented by a thick green line. 3-5 servings of these are recommended. Vegetable contain many vitamins and minerals. Different veggies contain different vitamins and different amounts. So the best thing is to eat a large variety of veggies.

Fruit Group


This group is represented by a slightly smaller red line. 2-4 servings of these are recommended. Fruits are low in calories and fat and are a good source of vitamins. Processing fruits when canning ads lots of sugar and reduces the nutrients. Therefore, fresh or frozen fruits are best.

Oil Group

This group is represented by a thin yellow line. This includes cooking oils, fats, and sweets. Since the yellow strip is so thin, this implies that the oil group is not a real food group.

Dairy Group

This group is represented by a medium thickness blue line. 3 cups are recommended per day. These include mil, yogurt and cheese. Choose low fat or non fat dairy products.

Meat, Poultry, Fish, Dry Beans, Eggs, and Nuts Group


This group is represented by a medium thickness blue line. 3-5 servings of these are recommended. Meats are an excellent source of protein. This includes beef, chicken, eggs, pork, salmon, tuna, and shrimp. Also, many non meat foods have the same nutrients that are found in meat like: Beans, nuts, and tofu.Use this new food pyramid as a recommendation for your healthy eating habits. Not as a rule! This is simply a guide. You, my friend, are the person taking the journey. So, use this as a guide map to help you figure out what to eat to help you lose your belly fat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.